Introducing Penn Med Voices

Every Penn Med student has a “when I first found out I got into Penn” story….

Seeing the status update during a work meeting, losing the ability to concentrate and trying very hard not to grin.

Struggling with painfully slow Internet connection at a conference, and finally after 15 minutes, seeing the big “Accepted!” status flash on the computer screen.

For me, I was on spring break with a college friend, riding in a van with a group of tourists, waving my cellphone in the air to get a strong enough signal to check the page. When it finally popped up, the entire van cheered with me. Once the initial rush of excitement subsided, I spent the rest of the van ride wondering how my life would change once I started medical school.

Over the next few months, I and other prospective Penn Med students perused the various links on the status page, scrolled through the Facebook page posts, schmoozed with current students and faculty at Preview…getting a little taste of what being a Penn Med student is like.

Penn Med Voices was inspired by the desire to create a forum for prospective students and others in the medical community to hear directly from medical students.

“How’s med school going?” This is the first question asked anytime I am catching up with a family member, college friend or old coworker. And honestly it’s a pretty overwhelming question.

I am now more than 6 months into my first year of medical school, and Penn Med has exceeded my expectations in so many ways – from its curriculum to its extracurricular opportunities to its diverse, inspiring and fun student body. How could I possibly convey all this during a single conversation?

Luckily I don’t have to. Penn Med Voices provides current medical students with an opportunity to chronicle, share and reflect on their journeys in medical school. And not just for MS1s! We have diverse group of student writers from across all years.

In the coming weeks and months, we will be posting pieces on a range of topics, including community clinics, life in Philadelphia, and research.

There are some individuals whom I’d like to take a moment to thank.

I would like to thank MS2 student Sneha Kannan for meeting with me when the blog was just an idea and providing valuable and useful advice on how to build a successful blog.

I would also like to thank the following administrators, for without them this blog would not have become a reality:

  • Gaye Sheffler – Director of Admissions and Financial Aid
  • Michael Sabara –Admissions Coordinator
  • Horace Delisser – Associate Dean of Diversity and Inclusion

I am incredibly grateful for their immense and continuous support for this project, from the very first time I met with them to propose the idea.

Finally, I would like to thank Admissions Coordinator Laura Harlan and Academic Computer Services Product Owner Tracy Christie for the tech support in bringing the blog directly to Penn Med applicants.

On behalf of all the Penn Med Voices writers, I want to say thank you, the reader, in advance for your interest and support. We feel very privileged to be able to share our medical school journeys with all of you.

Thank you for visiting our blog,

Rosaline

Rosaline Zhang is an MS1, originally from the suburbs of Seattle. She graduated from the College at Penn in 2014, majoring in Biology and Urban Studies. In her free time she enjoys running, listening to podcasts and baking vegan desserts.

Leave a Reply

